RESPECT ME

If a king asked me to make him some tea

And a queen said, “thank you” for my good deeds

The president smiled back if I showed him my teeth

Then I would respect them because they respected me

 

If my boss gave me a raise because I went beyond

Didn’t crap on my name as if that’s where I belonged

Gave me a chance for a better opportunity

Then I would respect him because he respected me

 

If I ask for help from an officer of law

And he didn’t smirk at me or ask what I called him for

And if the judge actually took my side instead of the opposing party

Then I would respect him because he respected me

 

If I see a stranger on the street, she was poor with one leg

And I gave her five dollars without her having to beg

She would smile and shed a tear because she believed

That I respected her and so she respected me

 

No matter how low or how high you are

It is a level of respect that everyone deserves

If you deserve only a little than I will not give you a mile

I will not fall over myself  so you accept my smile

I will not add to your happiness while you’ve subtracted mine from me

I will only respect you ONLY if YOU RESPECT ME

Leave a Reply

