Goodbye, Diary!

A couple of years ago I threw away all my diaries.  You see, those words in my diary were that of sorrow, hopelessness, pity, and shame.  How things, people’s words and their intentions used to hurt.  But, I’ve finally realized, long ago, that it wasn’t the things people said that I believed- it was what I believed that people said.  I kept it going.  I gave it life.  I allowed it to matter and to be significant.  Getting rid of those diaries was the first step to walking through my door and understanding who I really am; not what someone else thinks of me.  Now, I write a whole new set of words…those words are not something to get rid of….but to live up to and to stay in my heart.  

Leave a Reply

